off with the old…

  • cresent moon

It’s the very last day of 2012, and I’m more than halfway through this one, and I want to close this door and open a new one in the morning.

I have been struggling this past year. Actually, struggle is not the  correct word. I have been searching this year.  Searching for spiritual connective-ness and  more self-awareness.  I realized that  the search is ongoing, at least for me. Oh, I have been on this path before when life was really, really difficult and I had to scrap myself up off the floor with energy that came  from letting go of whatever high drama” I was holding on to at that moment. There is no “high drama” in my life, now it is more about re-defining who I want to be in this new chapter of life. Retirement.  It will be 3 years in April.  It’s taken all of these 2.5+ years to realize that what I have been doing is no longer  ENOUGH.  New awareness’, new friends,  new adventure/places/experiences…realizing  that I am not the woman I was in 2010 when I left my job and began the  journey  we currently enjoy. The novelty of  RV travel had worn off earlier this year…now  it has become  part of  how I live each year.  However, I know that there can be more and that is what I have been searching for during this year.

I want life to feed me.  Actually, I want what I do in my life to feed  me.  I want a life that nourishes  me all year-long.

I am not a resolutions person. Oh, in my younger life I would make  A  resolution in January that never, ever  saw March 1st  let  alone  December’s last day.  Resolutions have  dissolved into  “intentional lifestyle  changes … So this year  my  ‘intentional lifestyle changes’  will include: a) a creative writing class, b) weekly group meditation attendance, c) improved nutrition , and  d) playing more with my spouse .

  • Creative writing class because I have always wanted to write something that gets published before this life is over.  (This blog and my travel blog do not count. )
  • I discovered meditation many years ago,  however my practice has been sporadic at best and there is a Zen Community in my town that has a weekly group meditation community –  attendance  is now my intent
  • Four years ago  I was diagnosed as having a gluten sensitivity…. because I love gluten I pretty much ignored the suggested guidelines to  feeling better….it is my intent to live and be gluten-free by next December, and in the process feel better every day – not just now and then. If I can release alcohol, cigarettes and 80 pounds, I can release gluten.
  • My spouse and I don’t play enough….we don’t use the  “local event/happenings” nearly as much as we can and should and my intent  is to change-up  how  we play.

I started 2012 on Playa Coyote Beach,  Baja Sur and am ending the year in New Mexico, USA.

Farewell 2012, here’s to 2013 being filled with intention, love, laughter and fun.

Please comment

