Still in love….with the barre

CoreBall_medium_grande
B3 squish

[“Develop the length of a dancer and the strength of an athlete with our highly  effective 60-minute workouts. Each class follows a thoughtful sequence for fast body shaping results and long term postural benefits.” From barre3 website home page.]

On a side street off A Avenue in Lake Oswego** the transformation began in 2011…and in my true Type A style – I obsessed about taking classes as my I moved with increasing muscle soreness in the belief that soon, very soon that would be but a memory and I would just take the classes, enjoy them and wake up one day with new streamlined body. (Hahahahahaha….she laughed.)   On any given day my body aches in every conceivable muscle – and it’s not the large muscles that appear to be affected. Oh no, it’s those tiny muscles under the bigger muscles that ache. And it is not symmetrical this soreness I feel…although each group of muscles does get a workout each class. I have a few tiny mad muscles that continue to tell me exactly where they are at – who knew there were so many tiny hidden muscles. I can now do push-ups….not 100, but 10 good ones  and that’s something for me. I hate push-ups.

That is the beauty of barre3…at least for me. Each class is different, each instructor their own style and variations on the body shaping sequence, and although I have taken the same time slot/instructor, NO two classes have been identical – bonus, for I am easily bored. I need variety. So I change it up between the basic and the foundations classes. Being supported and encouraged to challenge yourself, AND to listen to your own body…be present in class just for myself.. Class sizes are small, pre-registered, which enables the instructor to provide direction, correction and encouragement, even to us oldsters

Now just over 3 years of in-studio classes, a series of DVD’s and on-line workouts for when I am snow birding…I have biceps and triceps that disappeared about 6 years ago. My glutes have become more toned and I have a stronger core. My chiropractor loves that I continue to use this form of exercise as one of the more helpful elements for me is the continued focus of correct posture and form. I feel terrific…I am sleeping better and my appetite has shrunk, I have lost 18 lbs since I started. Who knew a ballet-barre, yoga strap, a squishy ball and 2-lb barbells would be so loved. Madonna is a fan…yes that Madonna. (There I said it, and I’ll bend over and pick up the name I just dropped without so much as a smirk.) I don’t have the body of a dancer (secret childhood ambition: NYC Rockette) yet…however, it is trimmer and stronger.  Muffin top no more.

Last fall one of the instructors actually commented on how my body was transforming right before her eyes. (shhhh, don’t tell a soul, I like BH the best!)  Encouragement and support are part of the philosophy at B3. I have even considered becoming a teacher I love it that much. Fear still holds me back just as the call for ‘new trainer’ auditions was recently sent out. (Is the Universe sending an answer?)

Now there is a mobile app, Dr. M. Oz even approves and new on-line workouts being developed all the time keeping exercise fresh and challenging. More studios have opened around the country since I first started classes so check out http://www.barre3.com/ for a studio near you or how to find the workouts on line.

(**NOTE: this is only 1 of 4 locations here in the Portland area. There are also classes in other major cities, Bellevue/Seattle/Kirkland/Issaquah, WA, Denver CO,  WDC, Austin TX, OKC, OK. and New Orleans.  Check the barre3 website for other locations.)

(Ask about the 3 class special. If you want to confuse them, tell them I sent you. <grin>)

~ciao

 

Please comment

