Free Write…yikes

Daily Prompt

Ready, Set, Done

Our free-write is back by popular demand: today, write about anything — but you must write for exactly ten minutes, no more, no less.

Write for 10 minutes. My mind went stone blank.

I have quite a bit to say but it is ALWAYS when I am driving the car, during exercise class, at the dinner table and my partner wants to talk about money or when I have absolutely no freaking method to capture the thoughts that zip through my head. Oh, did I mention meditation…lots of crazy ass thoughts streaming then! Right now, I could show movies on the blank screen that is my mind.

Let’s see. What to write about. What to write. Oh. Let’s. Write. About. Not. Writing.

Speaking of writing. Oh, that! My novel sits quietly waiting for me to pick up the remnants of the four chapters and my desire, nay my need, to restructure POV to first person, find a new opening scene and basically move my fingers across the keyboard and get some work done.

For the month of August I had the very justified and reasonable ‘hold’ on any novel writing as I was in the midst of taking a mystery writing class. Hmmm, “excuse me Miss, that class which ended on September 5th. Is that the class you are referring too? Then there was the wee vacation to Crater Lake NP and labeled as further research.” Oh, yes me of many excuses. The latest one was on my way back from exercise class today.

Want to hear it?

“Just give your dead novel a peaceful, serene burial in the file called ‘Archives’ and start on that other idea you have.”

Ah, no. That just doesn’t feel finished. Feels more like excuses, escaping and just plain old FEAR! That’s it. J K Rowling didn’t write the first Harry P book straight through. I bet Elizabeth Gilbert didn’t write E/P/L in one felled swoop. Stop with the high expectations.

So, writing for 10 minutes on nothing sounds easy. Fills me with dread. So I will write about things I am grateful for.

  • Eyes
  • Food
  • Sense of humor
  • Clothes – no one wants to see me naked
  • My cats, Lucy & Charlotte
  • My spouse
  • Books
  • Writing
  • Flowers
  • My garden
  • Friends

Well, now I could write about all of the points mentioned above for 10 minutes. Wow. Awesome, I am now in the mood for writing. What an awesome thought.Lets hope I can hang onto it….

3 thoughts on “Free Write…yikes

  1. I like your ‘what I am grateful for’ < I constantly remind myself of this. We tend to focus on what we don't have, better to focus on what we have. Great post. I'm grateful our blogs paths crossed. :0)

    Like

Please comment

