Life as Salad

Salad Days
Is there a period in your own personal life that you think of as the good old days? Tell us a story about those innocent and/or exciting times (or lack thereof).

I have thought about this prompt for a couple of hours, trying to recall a “good old days” time that would be interesting, at least amusing or better yet…rich in innocence and/or excitement’. Alas, I could not.

Oh, don’t get me wrong. I have many memories of good times, moments within decades that were fraught with adventure, happiness and fun. But none of those moments scream to me “good old days”…they don’t whisper either.

The sixties (late): graduating from high school and leaving home…the freedom to do as I pleased. Sadly, my youthful inexperience created a slew of growth opportunities that would aid me as I celebrated the decades to come.

The seventies (late): recovery from alcohol and drug abuse. (That just looks sad and yet, happy…it was a necessity for sure.) Recovery meant freedom, again, from the very thing that saved me during the sixties and early seventies. I found hope and a power greater than myself. I found love and laughter, desire and lust. I found enlightenment, a path to follow, and I found Myself.

The eighties (late): a family. Oh, I married into it, but it saved me again. The family was his and I eventually had to leave them both behind, but through them I found more of myself. I learned to pray for guidance, to ask for help and to let go of people and places that I allowed to abuse me.

The nineties (late): happiness, a heart, a love and a goal. When I let go of all I thought I was, an event that needed to occur, “he” showed up. Though that only occurred once I found happiness for myself…then I found a heart. Then love of learning and I was able to begin the process of fulfilling that goal – to finish my college education.

The 00’s brought education, adventure, and desire. The heart became a partnership and writing became the desire. Education confirmed what I had secretly craved….that I was NOT the stupid girl they wanted me to believe that I was. I am really smart, and I have a brain full of trivia that fortunately makes up for no capacity for math or music !

“We will not regret the past, nor wish to shut the door on it.” So the Salad Days isn’t just a ‘time’, but all the time of my life. The today of my life would not be filled with the richness, depth or serenity without ALL of the days gone by.

2 thoughts on “Life as Salad

  1. Pingback: Life Is Beautiful | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

Please comment

