It was….

An Extreme Tale
“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.” — Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities
When was the last time that sentence accurately described your life?

I had finally completed, my long time goal, of getting a college education. I had taken myself back to school after having sabotaging two previous attempts. I had worked really hard to earn high marks and graduated with honors! I was so proud of myself. The best of times.

Having completed that long desired goal I began the process of looking for new employment. After all, I now had an additional line on my resume that employers apparently desired in their future employees. I certainly felt ‘real’ prior to obtaining that necessary line item, but if it impressed them to know I could attend classes and write great papers to earn a grade so be it. I now have that piece of paper.

Networking through a previous boss I was hired by an NGO to replace an employee who was retiring. I was beyond thrilled, as I had long admired this particular organization, when I was offered the position. It was only after the initial 60 days that I understood I was the wrong person for the job and I couldn’t leave. My husband had lost his job through downsizing and was, himself, heading back to school to complete his degree. We needed my income and benefits and I was stuck….it was the worst of times.

Please comment

