Parlez-vous…

A Bird, a Plane, You!

You get to choose one superpower. Pick one of these, and explain your choice:

  • the ability to speak and understand any language
  • the ability to travel through time
  • the ability to make any two people agree with each other

 

Super Power wand is activated…(then I dropped it.)if-only.gif

I would have the ability to speak and understand any language.

Time: NOW

Date: Any damn day

Activity: Taking public transportation

Typically, if I am riding our rapid transit train I stick in a pair of earplugs and pull out the current tome that I am reading. I carry a book or my Kindle app with me everywhere. (You just never have enough time to read these days.)

I would ride the train or streetcar in my town and eavesdrop on all of the conversations that are taking place around me. I am fortunate to live in a city that has a large diverse multi-cultural population. Irritatingly, so at times. The times when those sitting around me are speaking in a foreign language! (the mind boggles.)

I become focused on the conversation and my inability to understand what exactly is being said to the point of looking to see if there is something on my coat that they might be discussing. Or pat my hair in a manner to insure that the cowlicks are behaving. I run my tongue over my teeth trying to determine if I have lettuce, from lunch, lurking on my bicuspid.

Don’t judge me.

Time: February 2016

Activity: Teeth cleaning

Having the ability to speak and understand any language would allow me access to conversations I currently am in the dark about.

It would enable me to travel, as I did today , into Mexico to get my teeth clean and not understand what the hell is being said. It is so annoying to be in the room, a “dentist” prepping to clean my teeth – all the while discussing WHO knows what to the technician that is handling the water suction wand, in Spanish. Most likely they are not speaking specifically about me, the ugly American…however, if that were true – why can’t they discuss their dislike for the weather in English. I mean seriously? OH, I forgot – I’m in Mexico…they speak their own language.

But think about it…Russian, Hebrew, Latin…why Latin no one knows. Being able to speak and understand any language would be so wonderful. To order a meal or carry on a conversation about the town one is visiting, the culture or the price of food – it would be the best super power ever.

Time travel – meh. Agreeable people….yawn! No, no, no language/communication is the power.

~Ciao

 

 

One thought on “Parlez-vous…

Please comment

