Once Upon a Shelf….

“There once was an old woman who lived in a shoe….” – well, ok big fat fairy tale. No one lives in a shoe in the real world.

Don’t we all just love any story that begins with ‘Once Upon A (Fill in the blank here)…we all want an escape ladder up to the tree-house where we can seat and spy, er, I mean watch the world move along down the street or the neighbors yard.

Most of those fairy tale books sat on bookshelves or in the toy box long after we had finished reading them (or having the desire to read the stories) because some adult or the school yard bully told us that the fairy tale was just that, a fairy tale. A LIE.

As a young girl I certainly had my share of “when the prince comes to a save me” moments only to discover that there is no prince saving anyone…and I was totally unprepared to save myself. But that is an entirely different blog post.

My love affair with books began early, as an 11 or 12 year old. My first book(s) was either a story about the Civil War and Florence Nightingale, OR it was “The Secret of the Old Clock” a Nancy Drew Mystery….which captivated me in a manner that shaped my reading habits for the entirety of my life.

I do read a wide variety of genres, however, I must confess that books that have been developed into a series are my favorites. I use the website FanFiction  to determine an author’s published history. I will not start with a series unless I can start at the first book. And I become, yes, a bit OCD about reading the series through until I am current with the author or the series ends. Some of my favorites have been Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series – which totally fulfills my love of history and a good love story, Dana Stabenow’s Kate Shugack series, J.K. Rowling,  Elizabeth George’s Inspector Lynley and Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Milhone series, to name just a few.

While in high school and into my early 20’s I read the Ellery Queen, Robert Ludlum, James Mitchner, and Mickey Spillane novels…along with a few Barbara Bradford and Jackie Collins romance novels – just to mix things up a bit.

Recently I discovered Laurie R. King’s series on Sherlock Holmes and Mary Russell with the purchase of a used book store find: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice ~ I admit I fell into a period of reading the entire 13 published books and am rabidly awaiting the 14th to be published around April 5th.

These two photos are of my office….sadly, there are more small piles, baskets containing and another bookshelf crammed with books. Well, mostly books, along with a few nick-knacks and cds. And it’s not just this one room. My books filled four floor to ceiling book shelves and I belong to 2 different book clubs when that was all the rage.

My kindle has 700+ books on it. I thought I would never need buy another hard copy. Oh, so very wrong I was…I still love to hold a book, scribble notes in the margins and <gasp> dog-leaf a page. Do not judge me….bookmarks are for the library copy.

Shelve: of no use without a book or two on it.

book1books

Did I say I love, love, love books?

Please comment

